Broken Rules Presskit


2007 - 2009: AND YET IT MOVES

The prototype for Broken Rules' first original title And Yet It Moves originated at the Vienna University of Technology in 2007. It gained international recognition when it won the Student Showcase Award at the Independent Games Festival 2007 in San Francisco initiating the development of the full game.

And Yet It Moves was released in 2009 for Windows, Mac and Linux platforms.

Simultaneously to the release, Broken Rules Interactive Media GmbH was officially founded by the authors of And Yet It Moves, Peter Vorlaufer, Jan Hackl and Felix Bohatsch.

Back to top

2009 - 2010: STUDIO GROWTH

The company was initially founded by Felix Bohatsch, Jan Hackl and Peter Vorlaufer. During the launch of And Yet It Moves, Broken Rules merged with one half of their indie friends and office neighbors studio radiolaris, Martin Pichlmair.

At the same time Clemens Scott joined the company as an visual artist.

After the merging, the new team started working on Ginkgo, an in-house engine. Simultaneously, they started the develpoment of Chasing Aurora, an areal action game about the dream of flight.

Back to top

2010 - 2012: CHASING AURORA

Chasing Aurora started out as a bird-flying racing game prototyped in late 2010.

By spring 2011, Broken Rules managed to secure public funding from the city of Vienna to develop a series of games set in the Alps.

Soon afterwards, a first multiplayer prototype based on the children’s game of tag was implemented. The multiplayer mode was supplemented by a single player campaign and racing made place for exploration and brawling.

In mid 2011 the company received the offer to bring the game to the recently announced Nintendo Wii U console as a launch title. The team decided to split the multiplayer mode from it's singleplayer campaign and release it as a local multiplayer standalone.

Chasing Aurora was released for the Wii U at the console's launch date on November 18th, 2012.

Back to top


After releasing the launch title for Nintendo Wii U, the team returned to the singeplayer campaign of Chasing Aurora.

They renamed it to Secrets of Raetikon and secured additional funding through a crowdfunding campaign on IndieGoGo.

In January 2014, the game entered and Open Alpha phase on Steam Early Access and finally was released for PC, Mac and Linux on April 17th, 2014.

Back to top


After Secrets of Raetikon, the team started to pick up work for hire.

Leveraging their experience with the Wii U a range of ports spawned during this period.

Additionally, individual team members collaborated on smaller projects with independent developers around the globe.

During this time, DeNA hired Broken Rules to port And Yet It Moves to iOS.

Back to top

2015 - 2017: OLD MAN'S JOURNEY

In early 2015, Felix and Clemens started thinking about creating a new original game. After winning the Subotron Live Pitch they managed to secure funding for the project from IndieFund and the Vienna Business Agency.

In November 2015, Old Man's Journey became an full-time endeavour and went into pre-production.

A team was assembled, including collaborators such as Salon Alpin and scntfc.

Old Man's Journey was released for iOS, Android and PC on May 17th, 2017 and went on to win numerous awards.